2006 Competition: Cello

Cellists got their turn in the spotlight in the Society's third annual International Music Competition.

Finalists were selected from a preliminary recorded round, and came to New Haven to compete live at the Yale School of Music on June 15-16, 2006, with a winners' concert on June 17.


Patrick Jee
First Prize Winner
$4,000 and a sponsored public performance

Ana Kim
Ashley Bathgate
Shared Second Prize Winners

Winners also received a digital recording of their performances.

Biographies of the finalists


Steve Doane, Eastman School of Music
Joel Lester, Dean, Mannes College of Music
Curtis Macomber, Julliard School and Manhattan School of Music

Partners and supporters

The competition was presented in association with
The Yale School of Music
The International Festival of Arts and Ideas

The 2005 competition was made possible, in part, thanks to the Ralph Wilson Foundation and its support of the Regina Kass Traveling Fund, established in memory of Kauder Society friend Regina Kass to enable competitors to travel to and from New Haven, Connecticut.