2009 Competition: Wind instruments

The Hugo Kauder Society is pleased to announce the winners in its Fifth Annual International Music Competition, this year for flute, oboe, and clarinet.

8 finalists participated in the Live Round in New Haven on September 11th, 2009. To view their bios and photos, please click on the names in the column.

Photo of finalists, judges, KaudersBack row from left: Ryo Yanagitani, Kathryn Flum, Ivan Danko, Ladislav Fanzowitz, Cobus du Toit, Troy Paolantonio.
Middle row from left: Helen Kauder (seated), Jeong-hyun Kim, JiYoun Hur, Vasko Dukovski, Naomi Senzer, Mariko Furukawa.
Front row from left: Nina Kauder, Doris Goltzer, Jeanne Baxtresser, Norman Dee. (Click on image to view larger picture.)

The 2009 Kauder Competition winners are:

First Prize:
Ivan Danko, Oboe

Ivan Danko with accompanist Ladislav Fanzowitz performing at the Winners Concert at Firehouse 12.

Second Prize:
JiYoun Hur, Flute

JiYoun Hur with accompanist Ryo Yanagitani performing at the Winners Concert at Firehouse 12.

Shared Third Prize:
Cobus du Toit, Flute
Jeong-hyun Kim, Flute

Fifth Annual Hugo Kauder International Music Competition for Flute, Oboe, and Clarinet (view Press Release or Invitation Flyer)

Dates and Locations:

11 September 2009: Live Competition

at the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, CT

12 September 2009: Winners Concert

at Firehouse 12 in New Haven, CT

Competition Judges at Live Final Round

Jeanne Baxtresser, Flute, of Carnegie Mellon University; Doris Goltzer, Oboe and English Horn, of the New York City Opera; and Richard Stoltzman, Clarinet, of the New England Conservatory.


First Prize: $4,000 and NYC performance opportunity
Second Prize: $2,000
Third Prize: $1,000

Click here to download the Competition Announcement.

Click here to download the Entry Form.

Winner Ivan Danko with Helen Kauder (right) and Rona Richter.