Finalist: Vasko Dukovski

Vasko Dukovski

With his virtuosity and mellow sound, the Macedonian born clarinetist Vasko Dukovski has mesmerized audiences throughout The United States and Europe. Mr. Dukovski is a winner of numerous competition prizes and awards including: First Prize at the International Woodwind Competition in Stara Zagora, Bulgaria; Special Prize at the Jeunnese Musicales Clarinet Competition in Bucharest, Romania; 2nd Prize at the National Clarinet Competition and 3rd Prize at the National Chamber Music Competition in Macedonia and at the first Andreas Makris Clarinet Competition in Fort Collins, Colorado; Fine Arts Award from the Interlochen Arts Academy, and Honors Award from the Eubie Blake Foundation in New York.

Mr. Dukovski is an active soloist and a devoted chamber musician and has performed extensively throughout The United States, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Slovenia, Serbia and Italy, as well as at the Lake Tahoe Music Festival, Skopje Summer Festival, Focus Festival, Juilliard Chamber Fest and Greenwich Music Festival.

Mr. Dukovski has also been featured on the Macedonian National TV and Radio Stations and The Interlochen Public Radio.

Dukovski is a great admirer, advocate and performer of contemporary music. He has collaborated with many young upcoming and established composers and has premiered several newly composed chamber works as well as a great deal of ensemble pieces. In addition, Mr. Dukovski is a member of the Contemporary Ensemble Future In REverse F I RE, Argento Ensemble and the New Juilliard Ensemble.

As an orchestral player, Mr. Dukovski has played under the batons of many important conductors such as Maestro James Conlon, Yves Abel, David Atherton, Otto-Werner Mueller, Diego Mason, Anne Manson and Thomas Wilkins amongst others.

During the last three years Mr. Dukovski has taken great initiative in many outreach programs at The Juilliard School such as, The Gluck Community Service Fellowship, the Instrumental Music Program, the Concert Fellowship and the Morse Teaching Fellowship.