2010 Competition: String Quartets

Sixth Annual Hugo Kauder International Music Competition
June 11 and 12 at Yale University's Sprague Memorial Hall in New Haven, CT.

The Hugo Kauder Society is pleased to announce the winners of its 6th annual Hugo Kauder Competition, this year for string quartets:

Shared First Prize:
Linden String Quartet

Linden String Quartet

From left to right: Catherine Cosbey, violin, Felix Umansky, cello, Eric Wong, viola, and Sarah McElravy, violin.

The Linden String Quartet will be the Quartet-in-Residence at Yale University beginning in fall 2010.

Shared First Prize:
Amphion String Quartet
Amphion String Quartet

From left to right: Katie Hyun, violin, Mihai Marica, cello, Wei-Yang Andy Lin, viola, and David Southorn, violin.

Third Prize:
Bryant Park Quartet
Bryant Park Quartet

From left to right: Adam Meyer, viola, Ben Russell, violin, Anna Elashvili, violin, Tomoko Fujita, cello.

The other two talented participants were:
Azalea Quartet

Azalea Quartet
From left to right: Tara Hanish Klein, cello, Andrea Belding, violin, Jennifer Han Welsch, viola, and Rachel Huch, violin.

Hausmann Quartet

Hausmann Quartet
From left to right: Yuan Zhang, cello, Isaac Allen, violin, Bram Goldstein, violin, Angela Choong, viola.

Bryant with HKS

From left to right: Nina Kauder, Bryant Park Quartet, Helen Kauder, and Norman Dee, president of the Hugo Kauder Society.

Linden with Donna

Linden String Quartet with New Haven Register Arts Editor Donna Doherty.

Azalea performing Azalea Quartet performing at the competition.

Live Final Round Announcements:

Click here for Press Release

The jury of the Recorded Round has selected five wonderful string quartets who will be competing at the Live Final Round in New Haven on June 11th, 2010.  To view photos and bios of the five finalists and of the three Live Round judges, please click on the links on the right.

11 June 2010: Live Competition
at Yale University's Sprague Memorial Hall, New Haven, Connecticut, USA
10am to 4pm, open to the public, free admission.

12 June 2010: Winners; Concert
at Yale University's Sprague Memorial Hall, New Haven, Connecticut, USA
2-4pm followed by reception, suggested admission $10.

Competition Judges at Live Final Round
Nicholas Eanet, First Violinist for the Juilliard String Quartet,
Ettore Causa, Professor of Viola at Yale University,|
Jeffrey Zeigler, Cellist for the Kronos Quartet.

First Prize: $8,000 and NYC performance opportunity
Second Prize: $4,000
Third Prize: $1,000

First and second prize winners will perform in the Winners' Concert on June 12th.

Recorded Round Deadline: February 26, 2010

Click here to download the Application Form.
Click here to view detailed information on how to apply.

Applicant string quartets are required to submit 5 copies of CD recordings of selected, contrasting movements from following periods:
-Classical: one movement from any string quartet by Haydn, or from any of the 10 celebrated string quartets by W.A. Mozart, K. 387 trough K. 590;
-Romantic: one movement from a string quartet by Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert or Schumann;
-20th century: one movement from a string quartet written between 1900 and 1950.

If selected to the final round, applicants will need to be prepared to play the entirety of the three works submitted in the recorded round, plus a string quartet by Hugo Kauder. On the application form, applicants select two Kauder string quartets. The Hugo Kauder Society will decide which of its two selected Kauder quartets each finalist quartet must prepare for the final round.

Click here to view Hugo Kauder scores.